Aaron Huertas
1 min readFeb 2, 2018

--

Thanks! I’ll see if I can devote more time to watching his videos. I honestly wish they all had transcripts so it’d be easier to search and reference information, but that’s youtube for you. It certainly contributes to yet more confusion around his views.

I am concerned, but it can be solved by the university being more sensible. Once the debate creeps into *changing human rights laws* I think Peterson is pretty out of his element and loses ground in his argument. At the same time, I find that right-leaning free speech advocates aren’t doing anything to prevent obvious examples of censorship, for instance federal and state agencies preventing public employees from talking about climate change.

Left identity politics is not racist — it recognizes the existence of racism and tries to prevent powerful institutions from oppressing people. This is why I called out both siderism at the end of my essay. I should also share that my views on this are heavily informed by helping people register to vote for a living. Right wing legislatures are literally still violating the Voting Rights Act with racial gerrymandering and voter suppression. I refuse to equate that with anything happening on the left.

--

--

Aaron Huertas

Democracy is pretty cool. We should try it some time. Voting rights, science policy, political communication and grassroots activism.